30.1 C
New Delhi
May 26, 2024
News Bridge

India To Host Foreign Ministers Of 10 ASEAN Countries From June 15 To 17

Tawqeer Hussain

India for the first time will host foreign Minister of 10 ASEAN countries from from June 15 to 17 to expand its outreach in South East Asia where China is making massive inroads.

ASEAN is an association of Southeast Asian nations comprising Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Timor-Leste, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam with aim to strengthen the economic cooperation among themselves

According to the media reports, the meeting is likely to discuss Indo-Pacific Economic Framework (IPEF). 7 ASEAN countries have joined IPEF. India, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, United States and Vietnam issued a statement on IPEF in Tokyo last week.

According tot he sources, the meeting is key to counter China’s narrative on Indo-pacific among the ASEAN countries and India is going to brief them about its commitment for a free, open, fair, inclusive, interconnected, resilient, secure, and prosperous Indo-Pacific region that has the potential to achieve sustainable and inclusive economic growth.

Media reports added that India is unlikely to invite Myanmar foreign minister to the meet. Myanmar is currently under Junta rule after the coup in February 2021.

(With inputs from Agencies)

Related posts

‘Queen Elizabeth II Has Died,’ Announces Buckingham Palace


Ex-Philippine president Benigno Aquino dies at age of 61


Sri Lanka Appoints Former Maldives President Nasheed To Coordinate Relief Efforts


US Troops Leave Afghanistan‘s Bagram Airbase After Nearly 2 Decades


FIFA WORLD CUP 2022: Argentina Is the New World Champion


Political Crisis Deepens In Nepal, PM K P Oli Loses Vote Of Confidence


Leave a Comment